The Fault In Our Stars – John Green

tfios-cover

5/5 stars

Recently I finally got around to finishing The Fault In Our Stars by John Green and I am so glad that I read this book.

I am so incredibly impressed by this book. It is real and honest and I’m a little sad to have finished it because it’s gotten to me like no other book has before. It made me think more about a real situation rather than fantasy…

Without giving too much away about the general plot, the book is narrated by 16 year old Hazel Grace Lancaster who has terminal cancer and has to go to a teen cancer support group. At one of those meetings she meets Augustus Waters who has been in remission and has come to support his friend Isaac. From friendship to romance, Hazel and Gus share the quality of growing up with something no one ever thinks would happen to young people and cope with the ups and downs of a perfect imperfection.

The writing in this novel is sublime. It was the first book in a long while that was worded so beautifully that it gave so much more depth to the characters and their development throughout. A lot of critique has come from the way that John Green words his novels – his use of eloquent wording and metaphors, hyper descriptiveness and a knack for creating young characters that enjoy things that aren’t typical of societies idea of teenage culture. It’s a stand out point in Green’s books as he is able to portray teenagers as more than just drug taking, stupid, inexperienced, sex-obsessed sheep – he creates good, intelligent characters with many faults gaining life experience not only from school and parents, but from the friends that get made along the way and their own individual battles.

If you only ever read one book this year or ever, I recommend it be The Fault In Our Stars. From chapter 21 onwards I was in tears because I could somewhat relate… Not a boyfriend or the like, but two people close to me – one of which was much closer than the other and is my biggest inspiration in everything I do – died of cancer and I had to watch them deteriorate and succumb to something they couldn’t control…

This book handled a delicate subject so amazingly and, as a wannabe-author, I hope that I can one day meet the standards that John Green has set.

Honestly, if you are avoiding this story because it is getting so much mainstream hype then ignore all of that and simply experience it for yourself because this is one of those stories that even when you read it or second or third time you never forget it.

Leave a Reply

