T5W – Series I Wish Had More Books

SIWHMB

Of all the book series I have ever read, there will always be those particular series that will I feel need more books – whether that be because I loved the universe the books were set in or because I was left wanting a bit more than what I was left with. However, my list is going to be a little different because I’m going to count stand alone novels that I wish had sequels or spin-offs.

1 – Ready Player One by Earnest Cline

021915_ReadyPlayerOne_Cover

Ready Player One was a book that I had mixed emotions on whilst I was reading it. There were times where I felt as though a scene was dragging on too long, and other times everything was happening so perfectly that I was engaged and wanting more with every syllable. The book is set in the future where society has basically fallen into despair and no one is really capable of making a living without using the Internet, specifically the OASIS – the virtual uptopia created by James Halliday, a reclusive genius who dies and sets off the events of the novel. The eighties references were great and the world building was nice – but I would still love to see more.

Whether it’s a direct sequel involving the same characters, a spin-off within the OASIS, or a prequel delving more into the life of Halliday, I don’t care. I just want more of this world.

2 – The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

hunger-games-book-covers

I’m sure a lot of people will have added this series to their list because there is no denying the impact that it’s had on an entire generation of readers and movie-goers. The Hunger Games will always be a stand out series for me – and I do intend to reread the series before the final movie is released – despite the ending of it being so lack-luster.

I gave the final book a pretty low review last year; back then I didn’t like it. I’m still not impressed by it now but I have a better understanding of it now. More importantly I have a better understanding of Katniss now. But I wouldn’t want another book that followed her. I want a spin-off from one of the other districts, I’d like to know what Gale has been up to, I’d even take some more information on Peeta before the first book. What made the US turn into such a hell hole? Was the rest of the world in ruins? If so, did they have their own version of the Hunger Games happening at the same time or were they just watching the US like “eh, we’ll just leave y’all alone”. I want answers.

3 – Solitaire by Alice Oseman

81cZqPILo2L

Solitaire was a book that I picked up on impulse when I first saw it on a shelf at Asda. I liked the cover design, I was intrigued by the title, but for a split second I was turned off by subtitle. Not because I wanted a love story – oh no, I was hoping it wouldn’t be one. But more often than not, stuff like that is printed on covers and then romance is a big deal. However, when I read the synopsis, I was sold because the main character, Tori, reminded me way too much of myself.

I adored this book on so many levels. The writing quality was stellar, the references and attention to detail made me laugh, and having a cast of characters I could relate to not only myself but the people around me made me feel like I could easily live this book. Except for the ending – I wouldn’t want the ending. And I felt an odd sense of pride that this book had come from the mind of someone barely two months older than me.

I want some more content (and not just the ebook novella that was recently released). I want to see more of Tori, I want to see more of Charlie before the events of the book. Even more, I just want more of Alice’s writing because she was really able to construct a scenario and make me believe it.

4 – Bad Girls Don’t Die by Katie Alender

bad-girls-covers

Now this was a series that really caught me by surprise. I had never heard of these books before and I had only ever heard of Katie Alender when I saw Marie Antoinette, Serial Killer on a shelf at Asda – and I instantly judged the cover and didn’t buy the book. But then I saw the trailers for this series and decided to give them a shot. I read the first book in a day and then flew through the rest.

loved this series. So much.  Not only were the characters relatable, but they were so well thought out that even in the short length of the books there was more character development than I have seen in books twice their length. The writing was slick and easy to follow whilst keeping an air of angsty teenager and growing it into something great. Not just that, the plot itself was astounding – the arching storyline of Alexis dealing with ghosts in her life with the individual plots of each book (possession, evil cult, missing girls), just worked on so many levels. It was amazing having such a unique balance of supernatural horror and dealing with boys and friends and school. And none of it was done in a way that made me cringe.

Seeing more adventures from Alexis, Kasey, Megan, Lydia and Carter would be so sweet. There is so much promise for another book in that universe.

5 – Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling

HARRY POTTER

I don’t care if this has been said every single day by every single Harry Potter fan on Earth since 2011 – I want more. The Harry Potter series was the defining force of my childhood. It was a staple of everything I loved as I was growing up – the books and films were my little gateway to meeting friends who shared the same interests as me, they gave me confidence to stand up for what I believed in.

I first read Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone when I was eight years old. I found it on a Reading Is Fundamental day where I got to pick out a free book and I saw the amount of pages and what everyone else was picking and decided it was the book for me. It was at a stage where I already loved books but the main force behind why I read so much was gone. My grandfather had passed away and I was left with no one to read with, no one who would tell me stories. I had two choices: stop reading or continue like he would have wanted. I chose the latter with Harry Potter as my first stepping stone.

One more taste of my childhood would make my day.

Leave a Reply

