T5W – Top Five Books I Want To Read In 2016

BIWTR

A lot of people have probably already gone through and made their lists of all the books that they want to get through in the year 2016, but I am not one of those people. While thinking about something to write about, I was looking at my bookshelves and my pre-orders list on Amazon and realised just how many books I haven’t read yet.

I have a book buying problem. When I go to somewhere like Asda (Walmart, for any Americans who happen upon this post) and go to the book aisle, there are so many books on the shelves that I can easily ignore but sometimes a cover attracts my attention or I recognise an author or series and the price of the book is so low or they have an offer that makes it so much more tempting to buy I end up getting more books which add to my ever increasing list.

This year I’ve set myself quite a hefty challenge. I want to get through at least fifty books before new year’s eve and I’ve already got seven on the go already. Some are a lot shorter than others, granted, but even though I’m thirteen days into the year, right now, but I already feel I’ve been making some great progress.

That being said, I’ve compiled a list of the top five books I want to read this year. They may not necessarily be new releases for 2016, but I still want to make them a priority to get through.

1)The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (series) – Douglas Adams

Something you’ll find on this list is that a few of the books listed are technically series.

Back in December, I purchased and started reading The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy: A Trilogy in Four Parts, which is a bind up of the first four novels in The Hitchhiker’s series by Douglas Adams. That book, in and of itself, is one that I am particularly keen to finish because it’s such a cult classic.

I know the series by reference, though I’ve never seen the film with Martin Freeman or any of the other adaptations, and I could probably quote some of the lines (probably all of the lines by my spirit animal, Marvin the Paranoid Android) – but I’ve never experienced the books until now.

For those who are unaware, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy is a perplexingly odd series of books which follows a cast of characters as they travel the galaxy. The Earth has been destroyed by an alien race to make way for a space byway, and Ford Prefect (who, after watching Gravity Falls, I cannot stop picturing as Ford Pines in my head), another alien rescues Arthur Dent – a dim-witted human who has no clue what the heck is going on. They’re joined by Zaphod Beeblebrox (I’ve started to think of him as an alien version of Lord Flashheart from the Blackadder TV series) and the only other surviving human, Tricia ‘Trillian’ McMillan. Plus my favourite Paranoid Android.

Maybe I’ll finish the whole series this year, but mainly I want to finish the bind up of the first four…

2) Magnus Chase and the Sword of Summer – Rick Riordan

I freaking adore Rick Riordan’s novels. The Percy Jackson series has been one that has always really stood out to me. Sure, I had moments where I wasn’t as impressed as I was hoping I’d be but all in all it was a terrific set of novels – and he continued that further with The Kane Chronicles in which (instead of Greek gods) he has a new set of protagonists encountering the gods of Ancient Egypt. He has a way of bringing mythology to life with quirky and wonderful characters and his latest series, Magnus Chase is one I’ve been looking forward to for a while.

It was the one present I constantly begged to have for Christmas.

And I got it. Now it’s sat on my shelf waiting to be picked up and I am not going to wait an entire year to read this one. Not when it’s about a new kid and the Norse gods.

I’ve always been very into mythology and Rick Riordan’s books have held a special place in my heart because of that.

3) Armada – Earnest Cline

Earnest Cline is the author of Ready Player One, a book that I read last year and absolutely loved. There were times I felt a little bored, but overall it was something that kept my attention no matter what.

From what I’ve heard, Armada is supposed to be another book like RPO but with a new concept – instead of the people entering the video game, the video game is joining people in the real world. I think. Honestly, the description on GoodReads is vague enough for me to still be questioning what’s going to happen.

But, if it’s anything like RPO, I know I’ll be in for a lot of (80s) pop culture references and a whole lot of nerdiness.

4) Radio Silence – Alice Oseman

Alice Oseman has become somewhat of an inspiration to me recently. She is the author of the YA novel, Solitaire, which I read in the middle of 2015 and fell in love with. What made me pick up the book in the first place was learning Alice is only a couple of months older than myself, and everything she has written (her two novellas, Nick and Charlie and This Winter) since I have read and loved.

Radio Silence is her second full novel and I’ve been looking forward to it ever since she released the first description of Tumblr. I feel more hype for this story because I’ve been able to view her blog and see her grow attached to these new characters.

The book is set in the same town as Solitaire but with a new set of characters (some of which were introduced in the first book). There is so much diversity, not only in ethnicity but also in sexuality (from what I’ve read from Alice’s posts), that I am so excited to get my hands on it in February.

5) A Clash of Kings – George R. R. Martin

I couldn’t have a top five list with this theme and not include a Game of Thrones novel.

I’m pretty much pulling the same stunt as I did last year – start one of his books in the summer and then not finish it until the following winter/spring of the next year. I did it with book one and now the cycle is repeating with book two; though this one is a lot more intimidating.

A Song of Ice and Fire has been a series that I have known about for a long time and like to take my time with. Some things have been spoiled because you can’t go on the Internet without seeing something that ruins the surprise – then again, the series has been ongoing since the 90s and the TV show’s nearing its sixth season… I JUST NEED TO GET ON THIS BANDWAGON AGAIN!

 

Leave a Reply

