T5W – Top 5 Pre-Ordered Books I’m Excited About for the Rest of the Year

POBIEFTROTY

For me, my Amazon account history can track back like an actual library. The majority of the books I own have come from Amazon – some of them are impulse buys, some are specific searches. Then there is the function that has caught me off guard way too many times: pre-ordering.

I have lost count of how many books I have bought through pre-orders, forgotten about only to receive an email out of the blue saying they’ve been dispatched. Armada by Ernest Cline sat in my pre-orders for a little under a YEAR before I received it, that’s how bad it can be sometimes.

So for this Top Five, I’ve decided to list the top five pre-orders that I’m excited about for the rest of the year.

1] Lady Renegades – Rachel Hawkins

So, I’ll be honest. I’m writing this on the fourth of April. By the time this is posted, this should – in theory – be in my hands and hopefully read because it’s release date is the fifth of April.

Lady Renegades is the third and final book in the Rebel Belle trilogy which I first read two years ago. I wasn’t expecting to enjoy the first book as much as I did. It really surprised me; the characters were quirky and fun, the plot was equal parts ridiculous and intense, and it all rounded out nicely in a super quick read whose sequel I was really looking forward to.

Unfortunately, Miss Mayhem was underwhelming and felt like a filler novel rather than a complete sequel. It definitely suffered from Second Book Syndrome. I still enjoyed it and the characters were just how I remembered them but the book itself disappointed me.

Which is why I’m looking forward to seeing how the story ends with Lady Renegades. I put the time and effort into the first books, I’m going to see it through to the end.

2] A Court of Mist and Fury – Sarah J. Maas

And the confessions continue. I haven’t actually read A Court of Thorns and Roses yet. I own it, but I haven’t read it yet. Just like I haven’t read Heir of Fire or Queen of Shadows yet. I was going to add Empire of Storms to the list but decided one Sarah J. Maas book would be enough.

ACOTAR is a Beauty and the Beast retelling. That’s all I’ve allowed myself to know.

I’m just excited for any book Sarah J. Maas releases because I adore her Throne of Glass series and haven’t been disappointed yet.

3] Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – J.K. Rowling

It may be the script for the West End production but it is still another Harry Potter book.

I’ve said it enough times on this blog, and I know many people think the same, but the Harry Potter series really was my childhood. I grew up with these books so to see the characters I grew up alongside in a new adventure is something I honestly never expected to happen.

Even if I never get the opportunity to go see this play, I will, at least, be able to read the adventure when the book is released in July.

4] Gravity Falls: Journal 3 – Alex Hirsch, Rob Renzetti, Andy Gonsalves, and Stephanie Ramirez

I am unashamed to say that I fell in love with a Disney show because this was like no other animation that I have ever come across. Honestly, it’s one of the reasons I’ve been toying around adding TV show and movie reviews to this blog too just so I could rave about it.

Gravity Falls is an animated TV show following the adventures of twelve-year-old twins, Dipper and Mable Pines, as they spend the summer with their Great Uncle Stan in the mysterious town of Gravity Falls. It’s an exceptionally clever show and it doesn’t spoon feed you information – if you want answers, you have to search for clues to unlocking ciphers, you have to pay attention to figure out what’s going on. I adore it so much.

A focal point of the series is a journal Dipper discovers in the middle of the woods which holds lots of information about the different creatures that happen to live in and around Gravity Falls. All of series one and half of series two has a subplot of Dipper trying to find out who the author of Journal 3 is. Now, even though the show has finished, Journal 3 is being released as an actual book.

5] Heartless – Marissa Meyer

This is a tricky one because it’s technically not in my pre-orders anymore.

Heartless is a stand-alone (I think) novel being published in November 2016 which details the life of a girl named Catherine before she became the villain most commonly known as the Queen of Hearts.

Marissa Meyer is the author of the Lunar Chronicles series which is a retelling of Cinderella, Little Red Riding Hood, Rapunzel and Snow White. Because of the hype surrounding the series, I was a little nervous starting it because I didn’t want to be disappointed. But I was not. This series captured my attention like nothing else I’ve read in the last couple of years and when Heartless was announced I instantly put an order in for pre-order.

Amazon had other ideas though. They cancelled my order and currently have the book listed as unavailable for purchase. So it technically was a pre-order for a while until Amazon had a fit.

Leave a Reply

