30 Day Book Challenge – Day Three

Day three of the challenge, I suppose, is supposed to be a little more difficult than day two. You have to look back over into 2016 and pick out the best book you read. I guess for some people, and probably me in a year’s time, this would be pretty difficult if you read a lot of good books. Don’t get me wrong, there were a lot of books that did stand out to me last year and got me thinking and feeling things that I never thought I would. But there is one book in particular that stood out amongst all the others… and I’ve talked about it a fair amount already…

Radio SilenceĀ by Alice Oseman

This book was by far the best one I read in the year 2016 and I have said it time and time again that more people need to pick it up.

The story is told from the perspective of Francis Janvier, a mixed-race teenager trying to get through sixth-form so she can get into a good university. Francis is quiet and reserved around other people but secretly harbours a deep nerdy obsession over a bunch of pop culture, but most importantly a podcast called Universe City.

“Radio Silence” is such an important book because it takes an honest look at a bunch of different topics that are oftentimes mishandled. The main character of the story is mixed-race and bisexual. Most of the cast is LGBT+ and none of it is treated as weird or taboo. It’s just plain normalcy and it’s glorious.

Alice Oseman is a young author with a fresh perspective. She has an understanding of the world-view teenagers in the modern day have that is really refreshing.

It’s just a really good book.

Obviously, I gave it a solid 5 out of 5 on GoodReads.

Leave a Reply

