30 Day Book Challenge – Day Five

Five days into the challenge and I’ve finally come across another one that I’m not quite sure what to write about. The thing about this challenge is you have to pick out your favourite book series – and I pretty much did that yesterday. However, my interests are always fluctuating.

Where a single series may be my favourite of all time, there are others more recently that I would class as competitors for my Recent Favourite. I said it in my post yesterday: growing up, I didn’t get the same amount of pocket money as my friends. Some of them got £10 per week or whatever, whereas I only got £2 so it would take me a while to save for things. Because of that, I never really had that many books until I got older and got a job and started to have the income necessary to be able to purchase all these fantastic books.

So I’ve decided to do another double session with this post. I won’t talk all that much on my All Time Favourite series because I’ve done enough of that already. I will focus on my Recent Favourite though.

To begin, my All Time Favourite series is:

Harry Potter
by J.K. Rowling

Now, the series that I really want to talk about in this post, my Recent Favourite, is one that I have talked a little bit about before in a couple of reviews and some Top Five Wednesday posts and that is:

Skulduggery Pleasant
by Derek Landy

As I said before, “Skulduggery Pleasant” is a series that I came across properly in my early 20s so I’m a little beyond the target audience for the novels. I’ve seen them on the shelves for as long as I can remember, though, and it always felt to me as though it could be a series I could really enjoy.

Not to take on the “Riverdale” meme, but I was a weird kid. Not really Jughead levels of weird but still abnormal in the eyes of my peers. But I was surrounded by weirdos growing up so it felt okay to me. So seeing a book with a fire-throwing skeleton dressed in a suit instantly brightened my day.

I couldn’t afford it back then though…

Now I own all of the series, including the novella bind-ups, and have read four of them. I may not have finished the series yet but it still my recent favourite compared to every other one that I’ve read and completed already (like, the “Lunar Chronicles” or “Miss Peregrine” for example).

The books centre around the titular skeleton detective and a young girl named Stephanie as they try to unravel the mysteries of the secret magical world. Though told in the third person, the reader often spends time seeing the world through Stephanie’s (or later, *not a spoiler* Valkyrie’s) perspective. It ended up feeling a little like “Harry Potter” to me in the sense that a young child is being introduced to the world they never knew they belonged in, get to meet fantastically wacky and brilliant characters, go on death-defying adventures and grow up along the way.

It affects me now as an adult so I can’t even begin to imagine how much this would have impacted me as a kid. In a way, it makes me wish I had read it sooner but that in no way takes away the joy I get from reading these books now.

Leave a Reply

