30 Day Book Challenge – Day Seven

Day seven should be fairly easy in the sense that I know what book I’m going to pick, but I don’t really know what to say about it. There isn’t really all that much to say.

The theme for this day is to pick out your favourite book title. The rules weren’t very specific – it doesn’t say whether it has to be a book that you’ve read or just a name that you’ve heard and liked the sound of.

I’m going to go with the latter because, though I’ve read a great many books in recent years, there isn’t any that have struck me with titles that I felt intrigued by. I’ve liked titles, of course – most of the reason someone is going to buy a book, at least in my eyes, is because of the title. If a book has an interesting title then I am more likely to pick it up. If it has an interesting cover too then bonus.

I have not read this book. I own it, but I’ve not read it yet…

That book is:

Knights of the Borrowed Dark
by Dave Rudden

According to the synopsis on GoodReads, the book follows an orphaned boy named Denizen Hardwick who has spent his whole life thinking that only orphans in storybooks get great adventures. He is soon taken from the orphanage by a mysterious man claiming he is taking him to live with a long-lost aunt. However, they are soon attacked and Denizen discovers that monsters can crawl straight out of the shadows and that there is a secret society of knights who fend them off. Denizen has a connection to the knights, but everything they tell him feels like a half-truth. If Denizen joins the order, is he fulfilling his destiny, or turning his back on everything his family did to keep him alive?

Like I said before, I’ve not actually read this book yet – I just really like the sound of the title. It’s mysterious and cool; I like the idea of knights and the whole “borrowed dark” bit seems really magical. I’ll pick the book up soon enough and give it a read, but as of right now all I can do is admire the title.

Leave a Reply

