30 Day Book Challenge – Day Nine

For day nine, the challenge says that you have to talk about a book that you’ve been meaning to read. For me, there a lot of books on my shelves that I have been meaning to read. I will often pick up a book from Amazon or Asda or Waterstones, thinking it sounds cool, but then not read it for a good few years.

The book that I’m going to talk about a little today is one that I have been meaning to read for ages and I know for some people it’ll be a little stunning that it hasn’t been read yet…

That book is:

The Book Thief
by Markus Zusak

I can’t even properly tell you what this book is about. I think that there is a little girl during (maybe) world war two who wanders around and steals books. I’ve heard the narrator of the story is Death. But that is about it. I’ve never seen the film, I’ve not read the book yet.

It’s a book that I have known about for nearly ten years and one that I have physically owned for about three or four years, and yet I have still not read it! Honestly, I am a little scared to pick it up because so many people praise it and I don’t want to fall into that kind of trap – sod’s law dictates that the one book everyone seems to rave about will be the one I hate… It’s happened before, and this one just seems so beloved that I don’t want to taint it that way.

I’ll read it someday, but for now…

Leave a Reply

