30 Day Book Challenge – Day Twenty

Hands down this is going to be the easiest topic to talk about so far because if there is one thing that I am good about when it comes to talking about books, it’s talking about what I hated in shitty books.

And there is one book that I have such a hatred for that I wrote an entire ranting review about why I hated it.

Naomi & Ely’s No Kiss List
by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

This book.

This damned book.

There is no way to describe the level of hatred for this book mainly because the biggest feeling I ever felt towards it was betrayal. As I said in my earlier review of the book, I decided to actually download the Kindle version because I watched the movie adaptation on Netflix and loved it. I really enjoyed the film and I am not the type of person who generally enjoys that genre of film.

But the book was a god-damned disaster from start to finish – yet I had to see it through to the end, just to see if it really was as shit as I thought it was.

TURNS OUT I WAS RIGHT.

There is not a single likable character in the book, the naming scheme is tedious and lazy, the story is pathetic and the writing is utterly abysmal. I’ve never seen writing quite as bad as the rubbish displayed in this book and it’s really turned me off of reading anything by either of these authors ever again. The overuse of emojis during Naomi’s segments was so utterly frustrating I wanted to throw my tablet at the wall.

Let’s not forget Ely. He shot right up to the number one spot on my Most Hated Characters list because he is the worst. He is literally the worst character I have ever read about. If I could burn every single copy of this book to stop people from going through the trashy travesty that is “Noami & Ely’s No Kiss List” then I would. I’ve not hated a book this badly since “Let It Snow“.

Leave a Reply

